May 16, 2008

The "R" in my life

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:09 am by RJ

As a kid, I couldn’t pronounce the alphabet “R”, instead of R it would be Ya. For instance, Ram would be Yam. This happened till the 10th grade. I was thinking about one funny incident that happened when I was in my 6th or 7th class. My mom told me to get bread from the shop close to our house.

So I am at this shop called Sai-Krupa and ask him, “bhaiyya, bread dona”. He ignores me and I again ask him, “bhaiyya, bhaiyya bread dona”. This time around he gets irritated and gives me a blade. 7’0 clock blade. I was like, “bhaiyya, yeh nahi..bread chahiye” and he replies saying, “yehi blade hain humhare paas”.

I am totally embarassed and point my finger towards the bread and tell him, “woh chahiye Wibbs ka bread”. He angrily replied, “toh bread bolona…blade kya hain”. I was sadly thinking to myself – “kitne time bola…samaj mein nahi aaya aapko”. Similarly, I used to fear that nobody should ask me my name. My name is Bharathiraja. Let me be frank and tell you, when people asked me my name i used to say “Bhayathiyaja”. There’s no take away from this post, I remembered this incident today so thought of sharing it with you guys!!

Keep yeading and keep yolling…oops..keep reading and keep rolling!!
~RJ

29 Comments »

  1. Ketaki said,

    RJ,

    I have been following your work for sometime now and it’s been awesome. This is the first time I hv actually gotten down to write a comment and I love the way you write.

    Like R for you it was F for me. Then come college and we welcomed the F words with lotta grace :D:D

    God bless ya!
    Ketaki

  2. vishesh said,

    πŸ™‚ lol…i start going weird when i play too much and my ears get blocked with sweat πŸ™‚

    btw recd my mail?

    vishesh
    the light shines the brightest

  3. RJ said,

    @Vis – Aaaarrghh! Do I have to be on WP? Isn’t there a better way? btw – I love the-connexion πŸ™‚

    ~RJ

  4. gayathri-vishwanathan said,

    hey that was hilarious…guess what i still speak my mother tongue tamil like that… πŸ™‚ so u r not alone!!!

  5. RJ said,

    Lol! You should hear me speak tamil πŸ™‚ Whenever I go to my native, my relatives are like “ennda solre?”

    LOL!

    Keep smiling & keep writing!
    ~RJ

  6. vidhya said,

    LOL !!! I too used to pronounce some words wrongly like this… I changed it myself like you πŸ™‚

  7. Anubha said,

    funny one !!
    enjoyed readin dis post .. πŸ™‚
    I used to say things backwards …. πŸ˜€
    sounds very strange, I know.. πŸ˜€

  8. RJ said,

    @Vidhya – It happens to all. But I think till 10th grade was a bit too much for me :). My uncle told me to practice the alphabet looking at the mirror. I ended up admiring myself with different kinda hairstyles πŸ˜€

    @Anubha – Backwards?? LOL!! Give me an example!

  9. kurt said,

    #RJ
    hahahahahahahaha…
    LOL… POL…. DOL…

    I remember once u had written abt it somewhere, but u never mentioned abt the incident, it was too good… hahahaha

    njoi,
    Kuyt

    i meant Kurt πŸ™‚

  10. the "WTF" roomie said,

    Very nice piece, dude. These are common mistakes that can take place.

    If you ever have a chance, listen to a chinaman in Singapore pronounce the “R”. You would probably laughing your way to the loo.

    However, it was quite brave of you to actually share this, if it were me, i would just keep it to myself. Would be too embarrased to reveal it.

    But kudos to you buddy

    shankar

  11. RJ said,

    @Kurt – It’s not very nice to know that my vocal inability brings a smile to your face. πŸ˜€

    @Shank – Thanks! All the reader community of this blog are dear friends – so it was easier to reveal.But I like when you call me brave πŸ™‚

  12. vishesh said,

    er…ya,just create a wp na…you can use it for that blog alone πŸ™‚

  13. RJ said,

    @Vishesh – WP = whitepaper? didn’t quiet understand your post! dumb mee!! 😦

  14. gauri said,

    hehehehehehehehe…..

    wt more do i write, u do know my reaction already…

    it was indeed very cute of u to write about it.

    keep it up!

  15. RJ said,

    @gauri – You have heard me speaking like that in school. It’s changed now πŸ˜€

  16. Sakhi said,

    A person who can laugh at himself is the best humourist… keep up the good work!

  17. RJ said,

    @Sakhi – Whn people laugh at you you dont have much option left but to laugh at yourself! Heheeh!

    I thought it was a funny incident and shared with all my limited reading friends. Twas fun – I wish to see my reaction again when he gave me that blade. LOL!

    Keep yeading! πŸ˜€

  18. Sakhi said,

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ :), just keep cool and don’t break his head when he hands over the blade!

    hee…heee….heee…

  19. RJ said,

    @Saks – I won’t πŸ˜€ I speak completely fine now. It’s been ages since I said, ‘My name os Yaja’ πŸ˜€

  20. smallstar said,

    Oh. I didn’t know this. But, you mustn’t worry. I like this your pronunce. It’s a your personal thing that makes u really special.

    Keep pronuncing ‘y’!! πŸ™‚ *HUGS*

  21. RJ said,

    @Smallstar – Awww. That’s sweet! I am better off now. I can say Roberta and not Yoberta πŸ˜€

  22. smallstar said,

    Owww why?? I really liked ur pronunce! BTW, there is a good thing: you perfectly can pronunce my name!! :mrgreen:

  23. RJ said,

    @Smallstar – Yes I can now! Let me know when you wanna hear it πŸ™‚

  24. smallstar said,

    I would want it NOW! *hopeful look*

  25. RJ said,

    @Smallstar – Yea πŸ™‚ Email me il vostro numero con prefisso πŸ˜€

  26. smallstar said,

    Ahhh I can’t use email…do u rememba?? 😯

  27. smallstar said,

    Heya. Have a great week, darling! ^.^

    *an infinity of HUGSSS!!*

  28. RJ said,

    @SmallStar – You too have a lovely week ahead! Though I am very sleepy now 😦 *HATE MONDAYS*

  29. smallstar said,

    I HATE MONDAY, TOO!! πŸ‘Ώ


Leave a Reply

